Each year graduating Mason County high school students are able to apply for a variety of Skookum and Shelton Rotary Club scholarships.  This spring Rotarians are working behind the scenes to process the flood of applications and keep the tradition rolling.  
Skookum Rotary offers the following scholarships: Robert Burns for Performing Arts,  Janis Byrd for Business Arts, Joy Doescher for Community Service, Special Vocational Arts for GED, and alternative learning programs, Special Civic Engagement scholarships, Doug Larson for the Medical Arts, Terry Olsen for the Trades Industry Arts, Lee Gillis for Education Arts, Dick Oltman for Environmental Studies or Tourism, Academic/Continuing Education Scholarships, Paul Bunyan Scholarship, Vocational scholarships for the Trades Industries.  
In addition, Shelton Rotary has scholarships honoring:  Tom Spikes for Business Arts, Mary Penny for Medical Arts, Bryce Finley for Computer Arts (funded by Bar Association), Timber the Ax Man scholarship.  Many readers will recognize the named scholarships as being Rotarians and/or community leaders such as: Dr. Doug Larson, veterinarian and charter member of Skookum Rotary, Dick Oltman, the founder of OysterFest, Mary Penny, a nurse and tireless community volunteer.   As many as 28 scholarships are possible this year from both clubs.  
In the next few weeks, the scholarship committee will complete the process of blind judging, scheduling interview dates with the advancing students and conduct interviews - either on the phone or via computer - before coming back together to determine the awardees.  Denis Leverich, Scholarship Chair for Skookum Rotary notes that this year has been challenging with COVID 19, but true to form Rotarians have stepped up to the plate and made this happen for our Mason County Students. We could not make this happen without the dedication of fellow Rotarians. 
Scholarship Chair and Skookum Rotarian, Denis Leverich on the far right, with the 2016 Skookum Rotary club scholarship recipients from Shelton High School.